Getting to Senior

Interesting to see what people with my title but the word senior earn at my company.  The high end is about 15% more than my current earnings. Raises are given based on performance and not length of time.  Is it bad that I’m looking at my earnings potential less than a month in?  I don’t think so.  It’s not just about the money, it’s about the overall experience.  I’m happy right now and really don’t have any complaints.  When I started focusing on what other successful people were doing instead of myself, I started becoming overly critical and questioning my choices in life (not in a good way).  Now I focus more on what I do have control over and just enjoying each day regardless of what happens.  The grass isn’t always greener on the other side.  A friend of mine worked in sales and would still be doing work at 10pm.  Not my idea of a super life.

I quit working at a supermarket I was at for 5 years in 2006.  It closed for good just last month.  This picture explains it all.  Those who can’t compete go out of business.  You can be the best worker at the supermarket and still not get ahead in life.  Unions won’t always save you and often hold back top talent or artificially deflate their wages.

After I left, I was in banking for another 5 years, with essentially one promotion.  Part-time to full-time and then again to a supervisor.  I tried a couple times to advance, but was overlooked for someone else each time, even people hired after me with less education.  Those experiences made me realize a little cockiness, confidence, OCD and impatience is necessary to get ahead.  Playing it safe all the time can really hold a person back over the long-term.  I’m not where I want to be yet at 28, but I’m a step closer than I was a month ago.  This blog and the accountability it creates will help me stay on the mark.

Leave a Reply

