Putting On My Big Boy Hat

I made the realization this week that most of the debt I’ve been carrying on my credit card goes back to 2011, all I have done is shifted it around from a high interest credit card to a low interest one.  The decision to eliminate debt has entered my subconscious and is affecting my behavior.

June 29, 2000 a game called Diablo II was released out into the wild and earned record sales for a computer game at the time.  Almost 12 years later on May 15th, the sequel was released to much fanfare.  The game is $65 with tax if I ordered it through the open beta program and the best deals I’ve seen offer it for $59.99otherwise.  Although I’m excited about the game, for as long as I have credit card debt or it’s not on some crazy sale I will pass. Not to mention the time investment.  Between my new job and a pending move, I don’t think it’s smart to start playing a game that will suck up 8-16 hours of my time to complete then just sit on a shelf and collect dust.

Been continuing to look at side gigs on CraigsList.  One that came to mind was installing printers for a company and getting $40 a pop per printer.  I got no response when I sent a friendly e-mail and my resume.  They wanted what sounded like a single person to travel around the state doing installs and reimbursing them for gas and hotel expenses.  Not the first time I’ve gotten ignored / rejected, but I’m no longer taking it personally.

Still a bit short of making my extra $100/week in OT.  I underestimated how much energy it has been taking out of me.  Need to keep it all together and plan ahead more so I’m not running around like a crazy person in the morning.  I am so looking forward to tomorrow, feeling a lil sensation of burnout.  Dinner out with friends, immediately after my shift ends just outside Downtown Dallas.

In other news, I’m still a bit in shock at the number of musical celebrities who have gone before their time . Donna Summer, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Adam Yauch, Luther Vandross.  People I grew up listening to and are almost part of my identity.  Coming of age moments, as a high school student confused about my identity, dealing with parents divorce and bad breakups.

I still don’t know where my peak is in life.  Things are looking up and getting my finances in order is the first step.  I do crave more and still feel like a bit of an outsider in Dallas.  Building friendships of people with similar interests takes effort and I’m not sure how much I have in me right now.  Just venting….

Maybe I’m in a slight funk right now, but this too shall pass. I want to buy some new clothes too, most of what I own is 2 years old and fading.  Down to $500 left for the downpayment.  It’s all happening quicker than I would’ve imagined.

Leave a Reply

