Small World

Just saw someone I chatted with many moons ago on a dating website on the Suze Orman show.  Mike, who went to Embry Riddle Aeronautical University has 166k of debt and went to school to become a pilot.  He’s presently a customer service rep making 12.50/hr. I have a lot of respect for him for taking his story public.  I’m still not sure if he will get out of it anytime soon.  Like myself, he has taken advantage of the Income Based Repayment program to postpone making payments for a year.

I’m very grateful to have a job right now and my salary though not my ideal, it is far far from the worst and there is a lot of upside potential. I can also use the experience I’m gaining to go into a number of different companies in my industry. I viewed this page on Employee Benefits and it really gave me perspective on how much benefits are really adding to my gross salary.  6-10k easily versus being a contracted worker that has no benefits or working for myself and paying small business taxes.  Just something to think about.

Also thinking about holding myself publicly accountable on health and exercise as I have with my money.  So far 217 visits to the blog since April.  It is a big paradigm shift when there are other people reading what you have written, ready to call you out when you are full of it. I’ve been going to the gym on and off since 2003 and my weight has been pretty much the same with a 10 pound swing. 5’9, 212 now, have been dreaming of the days when I was 185 and 22.  Is it possible? Yes I know my blog is about paying off debt, but larger picture it’s about feeling great and in control. Maybe bodybuilding.com forums or somewhere with lots of people o encourage me, hmm.

Leave a Reply

