Anniversary & Cyber Monday

Thanksgiving we had friends over, I drank too much, ended up losing control and rushed to bed shortly thereafter. First time alcohol has done that to me since I recall drinking. Clearly bourbon is not designed for me. I’m not drinking for a while now. I never really enjoyed the taste of alcohol and it was more or less always a social thing. I didn’t experience any of the craziness on Black Friday.

Recently had my 2nd anniversary with my boyfriend.  At times it has gone by very quickly at other times (such as the 6 months I spent looking for work) it went by slowly. I have so much gratitude to be with someone who cares so much about me and is on the same financial page as I am.

I wanted to purchase a new Motorola Razr Maxx HD for him, but there were some complexities involved in moving his unlimited data package over to the new phone through Verizon. Simply put, he has another month left in his contract and they had no interest in grandfathering the old plan. AT&T does it, Spring offers unlimited, why Verizon can’t do it is beyond me.  He uses less than 2GB/mo but that’s beside the point.

Since the phone didn’t work out, I did have a plan B. We went to a fancy Indian restaurant in Dallas and had a great meal. Service was great, food was delicious and the ambiance could not be beat. Lots of earthy elements and an upscale feel to it all. The bill came to about $120 between the two of us. I put it on my credit card and really didn’t think any less of it.

Next we have Cyber Monday… I was really looking forward to finding some amazing deals and thought I would overspend like oh so many people out there. I ended buying just a Light Tungsten ring for myself from Tanga.com for 14.99. I really wanted to buy the $49 23andme.com but by the time I got to their site it jumped to 299.99.

On a more somber note, a guy I hung out with a few times in NY and would consider a friend died in a car accident about 2 weeks ago. He was always a caring, funny guy who was bubbly with a lot of energy. Only 27 years old, he dropped off a friend home after partying and we presume he fell asleep at the wheel. That marks 4 people I’ve met who have passed away in the last year.

In addition, my great aunt who I said was believed to have leukemia is presently on life support. I would see her at least once a month from the time I was around 6 to 12 or so. She is frugal, but always made due with what little she had. Between a crazy workday and hearing this news, it’s really been a lot to process.

One of my managers is moving to a different area in the company. I think she will be a great fit for it, but that also means starting over from scratch with someone who doesn’t really know me. Time for bed now.

Leave a Reply

