Month 8 Update

Hello Macintosh. Oh wait… Hello readers of my blog. Still paying down my debt.

On IBR (Income Based Repayment) for the last two years. I logged into my Sallie Mae account and see that 2157.50 was applied to principal that was accrued interest. I read somewhere that the government would cover interest payments for some IBR loans but apparently not mine. This is a real-life example of interest accruing interest. Not happy about that but I don’t think there’s a whole lot I can do about it.

Two consolidation loans:

loansnapshot122012

Interest that has been rolled into principal aside, after the next payment I will have roughly 42,250 in student debt. An incremental step from the 45159.35 I had between credit cards and student loans when I started this blog. I have a little over 800 in my bank account before my monthly bills are coming out.

I went out drinking with some friends, a low calorie margarita and two beers spaced out over about 3 hours. On the way home I started to feel really sick. I don’t know why but it seems like my body is rejecting alcohol. My blood sugar gets a lil wonky afterward.

This week has been a particularly emotional one. My great aunt whom was ~65 and had leukemia passed away suddenly earlier this week. My mom spoke to her Monday morning and on Wednesday she was gone. She was a good person. Opinionated yes, but a great cook, always welcomed us into her home, frugal and always had a good work ethic. Services were held for her Saturday in Alabama, 10 hrs away from me and over 17 for my folks in New York. We couldn’t get there in time given we were told the day before and the cost for a last minute flight was just too much money.

According to the CDC, the average US life expectancy is 78.5 years. I hope I live until my 70s or older. The odds aren’t in my favor, but starting in my 20s I want to do everything in my power to make that a reality.  I’m a believer in the power of decisions over time working out in my favor. Like working out and having my health monitored frequently.

Pushing myself hard with the overtime still. My bf said if I work 7 hours a week in OT he won’t make me pay the 350 for car insurance that I owe him. Gotta love positive reinforcement! 🙂 Even with the Holidays I expect to come out ahead at the end of this month.

Our Christmas Tree 2012.

Our Christmas Tree 2012.

To me Christmas is less about the gifts and more about sharing time with the people you care about. Half the gifts people give are forgotten about not long after. I understand we have to do things for political reasons, but at the end of the month as Suze Orman would put it, stand in your truth. Don’t buy expensive presents if you have unmanageable credit card debt and/or no emergency fund. Pay yourself first and donate a toy to a child in need through a local toy drive. We did that several seasons ago both at my jobs and college. It’s great to see how far $20 can go to make a child happy who may not have a stable family environment or whose own family simply didn’t have the resources to provide more than food + shelter.

Leave a Reply

