Wheat Belly

Wheat Belly Weight Loss Book

Wheat Belly Weight Loss Book

At the beginning of the year I started making changed to my diet that were pretty much in-line with both the Paleo and A tkins diet. I lost a fair amount of weight but ran into some obstacles. The first being energy levels. Cutting back so much on carbs meant that my body had to rely on fat and muscle for energy instead of carbohydrates. The only dessert I would consume was 80-90% dark chocolate. This lead to insulin level spikes at work, where I would become dizzy or lightheaded if I didn’t eat food with carbs and fats. I was very heavy on protein and veggies, but my breeath reeked and I was always in a constant fog.

Needless to say I couldn’t sustain such a stringent eating regiment for a prolonged period of time..

Right after turning 22 (when I started a bank desk job), my weight began to spike. 8/5/04 I was 188 pounds, which at the time was in-line where someone of my height should be. My body was not nearly as muscular as it is now, but I moved around with ease and some level of ignorance that I would never get fat.

There have been periods over the last few years where my weight would spike, My highest on record was 223 pounds in August 2011. This was shortly after leaving New York, being in temporary housing for a month (no real kitchen) and having the stress of moving and no job constantly looming over my shoulder.

As of weighing myself this morning my weight was a more respectable 211.6 (down from 218.6 on 11/24). Lower than my ideal, but a big step in the right direction. While I am cutting back on carbs this time around, I do consume them and am putting less of a shock to my system.

Wheat… Of all the ingredients of foods I consume I would say it has been the most monumental in my weight gain. I recently went to see the new James Bond Skyfall movie. At the concession stand I got a bacon cheeseburger and fries. Ordinarily it doesn’t bother me but this day was a little different. I experienced what some would consider a mild diabetic shock, where my body started to sweat and I had some light shakes. I have never been diagnosed with diabetes, but this was a wakeup call to me that some changes need to be made to my diet.

So right now I’m feeling pretty good. Cutting back the wheat, working out and the pounds just seem to almost be melting away. It’s kind of weird. I’m hitting up the gym less than I did before but the pounds are still dropping. I know the holidays are going to be a particularly tough time. Heck yesterday I attended a company party and did shots before drinking more at the event. Even with two plates of food (only a nibble of bread), I still managed to not gain any pounds.

So this is all a work in progress. I no longer view any one dietary plan as being 100% correct in all instances. You can lose weight in lots of ways, but the question is which is the healthiest and which can you maintain over the long-term.

Leave a Reply

