Bummed Out

Slightly bummed out overall with the way life is going. I’ve become a bit boring, trying to spice things up a bit and not be a slave to work. Lately though it’s like I go to work, eat dinner, watch some tv show I’m only half interested in watching to begin with, veg out on my laptop and repeat. Trying to find people to meet on craigslist who don’t sound shady, but that is an ongoing process…

I am on a budget yes, but I also want to find ways to keep things exciting. I’m grateful to have a job and be able to pay my bills, but the 33k salary I earn plus overtime and the occasional 700 or so pretax bonus isn’t enough. Started looking at job postings again and it’s a bit overwhelming and discouraging. I really don’t want to start this whole process over from scratch.  However… I do see the writing on the wall. I don’t think I will get a bump up to a higher paying position in the next 12 months.  Just because of how the division and positions are structured. You basically need to put in close to two years before you’re considered senior and even then it’s like a $5000 pay raise. Most of the people who have been with the company that long have left. I suspect we will have a lot of churn some next year around the summertime in particular. I’ve had 2 managers since I started and both have gone to other areas of the company. Soon I will be reporting to my 4th manager in less than 9 months. I like all my managers but big picture I don’t see a whole lot of growth for me here without putting in 3 years minimum. Of course something unexpected might open up. It seems that’s often how it works. Can’t sit and twiddle my thumbs waiting though.

In other news, I’m making a big shift again in my health after some recent issues that have come up. Basically there are times after eating certain foods that I go into a diabetic-like shock where I will start sweating, feel lightheaded. I know being overweight and addicted to certain foods isn’t helping. I plan on doing a fasting blood test to see if there is a serious medical issue or my body is just having a reaction to excess sugar consumption. 

 

2 thoughts on “Bummed Out

  1. Have you tried going to meetup.com to meet people? That way you can find people who share the same hobbies as you.

    Goodluck with your heath issues, hope it gets better. Happy New Years, fellow Texan!

Leave a Reply

