Starting some IT Certification Programs

Going in with the sincerest of intentions, not sure where it will lead me, but I recently enrolled into an IT course. I found it through one of the deal sites I was looking at. I have wanted to do some training for a while, but not go into $20k of more debt as I would with the University of Pheonix online or a traditional university. Not to say the programs compare, but I’m all about not sinking in huge amounts of cash into an investment I have no guaranteed return on.

CompTIA A+ certification validates foundation-level knowledge and skills necessary for a career in IT support. It is the starting point for an exciting career in IT. The international, vendor-neutral certification proves competence in areas such as installation, preventative maintenance, networking, security and troubleshooting.

Network+ certification: The exam covers network technologies, installation and configuration, media and topologies, management, and security. Candidate job roles include network administrator, network technician, network installer, help desk technician and IT cable installer.

Security+ not only ensures that candidates will apply knowledge of security concepts, tools, and procedures to react to security incidents; it ensures that security personnel are anticipating security risks and guarding against them.

Project+ validates that project managers have the necessary skills to complete projects on time and within budget. The exam covers the entire project life cycle from initiation and planning through execution, acceptance, support and closure.

The cost was $2695 $99. If it works out for me I’ll be a step closer to getting a much higher paying job and I will open up my career options. My MBA is great, but it’s been five years and Finance / Accounting is not the direction I want to pursue. My current line of work has limited long-term potential.

If I eventually become an iOS developer, I could earn double my current salary or more. Some of the other roles such as Linux support, computer programmer, systems administrator, computer systems analyst. I’ve been using computers for over 20 years and they’ve always fascinated me. The fear of being burned out or having to start over from scratch aren’t as valid as they used to be. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

