Happy and Sad & the same time…

Got paid on Friday, this time it was 3 weeks income plus overtime so really a much larger check than normal. Over 1800 vs 1200 after taxes… In some ways it feels like I’m getting free money when I know for a fact I am not. I’m being conservative as possible with my spending.

We recently celebrated my boyfriend’s birthday, lots of friends came over and tons of food was served. I overindulged as I often do. The pounds keep on creeping up on me. Also haven’t been to the gym as much as I’d like. I’ve been making excuses there and it shows. The gifts I bought him between food, books and a game were around $200.  Nothing too extravagant, but also within my budget.

Saturday I got my Nissan serviced at a local Dallas dealership. Got a CVT fluid flush and an oil change. Having no idea what it cost, I told the service guy what I needed and he showed me a price list. It was $299.99 for the flush. A little extreme I thought, but I plan to keep the car for quite a number of years now so not a big deal. I mentioned a coupon for $30 off at the cashier before they finished writing up my paperwork. The clerk said she would take care of it and thanked me for notifying them. To my surprise the discount was not $30 but  $100 off. Not complaining about that though. Altogether I paid $209.

I’m at a bit of a crossroads. I know I should be contributing to my Roth IRA, especially being 29 and having pulled the money out in the mid 2000s when the market was headed south. The student loan debt still bothers me and contributing a small amount like $10-20/week really is within my comfort zone. Then there’s the question of what to invest in with such little money. Far shot out from the chunk of $3k I had invested into a Vanguard Lifestyle Fund.

No changes on the job front. Things have been a bit crazy at work, moving around to different teams, mandatory overtime and a fair number of meetings. Interestingly enough, a former coworker who left around December is coming back. I’m not judging, but based on my age (3 years her senior) I know very well the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. I really loathe the process of looking for jobs and on many levels I fear working for a company that doesn’t offer work/life balance or is full of unhappy, negative people. Some say working at a company for a year isn’t really long enough to move elsewhere without having it raise more questions. I’m kind of on the fence about that.

Got paperwork about being included in a class-protected group for my previous employer being sued because of the WARN act. If they are found to be in violation and agreed we should be paid for 60 days of time plus my bounced paycheck I’d be in a much better spot.  I’m owed about 6000 post taxes if this gets approved for the full amount and 1200 if it doesn’t. That’s a big chunk of cash to me..At this point though after a year I’m not holding my breath for anything to happen soon.

 

Leave a Reply

