New Beginnings – Apartment Lease and Relationships…

Reached irreconcilable differences with my now ex-partner. Planning to either sell the house or refinance and take my name off. Will split the accrued equity.

This almost happened about 3 times before, choosing not to air my dirty laundry on here. Long story short I think we will be happier being with other people.

Signed the lease on my very first apartment today. Monday I should have final approval.

My payment are as follows:

804.19 – Due 12/15 –  Pro-rated first month’s rent. 300 of that was pet deposit (150 refundable), 100 security deposit and 55 application fee.
823 – Due 1/1

Then basically 823 after that.. 763 rent plus 50 for washer / dryer and 10 pet rent.
Considering my take home pay of $3200 a month I certainly think this is doable. Utilities and water should each be close to 50% less than I pay now. No Housing Association dues will free up $100/mo.

I really think renting will be better for me than home ownership. I won’t have to worry about big items to repair such as the cracked driveway, eventual foundation work that will need to be done, cracks in the walls, plumbing work, etc. Nor will I have to pay property taxes to the tune of roughly $2k and annual interest on a 100k+ loan, PMI, etc.  I really feel that once the $7k-8k in money for basic stuff is factored in, for my current needs downsizing from a 3br to a 1br is better financial sense.

Will write more about this but I’m headed to a party now. 😀

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings – Apartment Lease and Relationships…

  1. I am really sorry to hear this – I can hear the sadness in your tone. I went through a divorce a few years ago and, while I know it’s not the same as what you are going through, it is tough. Very tough when you have a piece of property between you. But you are right about one thing, not having all the responsibilities of a house is a good way to lessen your financial burdens every month. Not having to worry about the other shoe to drop when you finally feel you have a financial leg up, or Murphy’s Law to kick in. It’s nice to be able to just call someone when something breaks and know it will be taken care of. The best advice someone gave me when going through that breakup was to lean on my friends. Sounds like you are doing that.

  2. I’m sorry to hear this, though it sounds like you’re both handling things maturely, which is really the best you can hope for for things like this. Wishing you both peace and happiness, and I hope that renting will make things less stressful for you.

    • Thanks for the kind words. Sorry it took me so long to reply! Everything will work out fine. Renting will be less stressful. One of my friends has a townhouse in the same complex and she will need to fix a slab leak. That will run a couple thousand easy. Another person I know down the block needs foundation work that’s being split amongst neighbors. I’m taking a 3k hit on plumbing stuff but am glad it won’t be my problem anymore.

  3. Thanks for the kind words. He’s going to refinance the house, should happen over the next 60 days. Looking forward to some sense of closure, I think we both are. I also will get some money in the process and not have to worry about a potential $10k plumbing job in the future along with other maintenance stuff. Not saying I won’t ever be a homeowner again, I think being debt free when/if I do is a pre-requisite.

    I might just want to get intense and put it all toward my student loans. That’d get me much closer to having a $452-$1000/mo bill out of my life permanently along with $1000+ in annual interest.

    I still get a little sad at times, but focusing on meeting new people and seeing where things go. Kind of lingered onto the relationship longer than I should have by close to a year. Kept hoping things would change but they never really did.

Leave a Reply

