Month 34 Update: Navient – $22,313.50, NMAC – 15,085.99 Total: 37,399.49

February 4, 2015 - Student Loan balance update.

February 4, 2015 – Student Loan balance update.

So like I said I was going to get aggressive about paying the loans off this month. My tax return was about $2300. I made a $1000 payment on 1/15, $1447 on 1/30 and $452.76 on 2/4. So that’s 2899.76 in student loan payments and $279.37. So $3179.13 total. It was painful to spend that much on loans when there are other things I could be doing with that money. It was a necessary though if I ever expect to pay off these debts.

My total loan balance was in the 40s last month and now it’s the mid 30s. 25,137.39 to 22,313.50 so $2,823.89 down. I might not have a shiny iPad, 42″ television in my living room that will depreciate, expensive clothes or a fancy trip to say I went on but an 11% drop in my balance is nothing to scoff at. 🙂 Just gotta keep up this momentum now.

2 thoughts on “Month 34 Update: Navient – $22,313.50, NMAC – 15,085.99 Total: 37,399.49

  1. Wonderful progress!! I totally understand how all of that feels – how sickening it is to know that money could definitely go elsewhere but instead you are using it to pay down debt. Believe me, I know! Just wanted to cheer you on and say keep it up! And yes, who cares if you have or don’t have a huge screen tv??

  2. Thanks for the words of encouragement. You’re absolutely right. It feels like I’m giving something up in a way when really I am not. I spent 3 hours watching a movie tonight on my 32″ TV fine. Easy to exaggerate and act like I’m really giving up something because I don’t have some of the fancy things my friends have. There is still a lot of materialism out there. I usually try to steer clear but sometimes the marketing messages / telling myself I deserve it gets the better of me…

Leave a Reply

