Month 47 -Navient $10,282, NMAC – $11,454, 401k – $13,575, Roth IRA -$3,588

Navient $10,282
Car Loan – $11,454
Total Debt: $21,736

401k – $13,575
Roth IRA -$3,588
Total Retirement: $17,163

Making progress. I asked Scott Alan Turner a question and it got mentioned in Episode 51 of the Financial  Rock Star show. I changed the number of allowances on my W4 from 0 to 2 after listening to this episode. What does that mean? $82 more in my bank account with each paycheck. That makes it easier to drop a G each month on my debts.

12 Months ago. My student loan balance was $12k more, my car note was $3,632 more.

I had a thought the other day. Paying over 3x as much on my student loan each month as my car note. Most people have a car note way higher than I do. $280/mo doesn’t kill me. Gas is ridiculously inexpensive right now, around $1.60/gallon here.

My retirement accounts have been going up as a result of some upward momentum in the stock market and an employer match.

This week I had a phone interview with a recruiter. She approached me on LinkedIn. I knew nothing about the job, but long story short I wasn’t qualified for the position. Probably 2-3 times the amount of work and a week less of vacation time. Being a millennial I’m big on work / life balance. This company only had one good review and the other 7 were horrible. It’s been making me think about my future. Working for myself over the long term may be the best shot I have at long term wealth.

In the meantime, having little or no debt is really liberating in the grand scheme of things. So that will continue being my primary goal over

I don’t mind working hard but I’m not going backward for no reason.

Leave a Reply

